Skip to main content
Top of the Page
Lefty Gomez

The ABCA/Wilson Lefty Gomez Award is one of the most prestigious awards in all of amateur baseball. Named after the great Lefty Gomez, this award is presented by the American Baseball Coaches Association and Wilson Sporting Goods each year to an individual who has distinguished himself amongst his peers and has contributed significantly to the game of baseball locally, nationally and internationally.

The ABCA/Wilson Lefty Gomez Award is presented each year at the ABCA Hall of Fame Banquet hosted during the annual ABCA Convention.

NOMINATIONS: Those wishing to nominate an individual for the ABCA/Wilson Lefty Gomez Award should contact the ABCA National Office by May 1 of any given year. Nominations will need to include all necessary materials –– a complete biography and three letters of recommendation –– which are due by June 1 for consideration in that year's cycle. Once a complete nomination is received, the ABCA National Office will forward complete materials to the Lefty Gomez Award Committee for review. Materials received after the June 1 nomination deadline will be considered by the committee the following year.

Most Recent Honorees View All Recipients

2024 Recipient
Mike Martin Photo
Mike Martin

Florida State University

View Bio
2023 Recipient
John Noce Photo
John Noce

College of San Mateo (CA)

View Bio
2022 Recipient
Ron Maestri Photo
Ron Maestri

University of New Orleans

View Bio
2021 Recipient
Jerry Weinstein Photo
Jerry Weinstein

Sacramento City College (CA)/Colorado Rockies

View Bio
Back to Top