Skip to main content
Top of the Page

2015 ABCA/Diamond Coaches of the Year

2015 ABCA/Diamond National Coaches of the Year

NCAA Div. I: Brian O’Connor, Virginia
NCAA Div. II: Joe Urso, Tampa
NCAA Div. III: Joe Brown, SUNY Cortland
NAIA: Jeremiah Robbins, Lewis-Clark State (ID)
NJCAA Div. I: Doug Martin, Northwest Florida State
NJCAA Div. II: Jeff Willis, LSU Eunice (LA)
NJCAA Div. III: Doug Wren, Tyler JC (TX)
Pacific Association Division: Eddie Smith, Lower Columbia (WA)
High School Div. I: Clyde Metcalf, Sarasota High (FL)
High School Div. II: Brian Chapman, Millburn High (NJ)
High School Div. III: Bob Karn, St. Cloud Cathedral (MN)


NCAA Div. I - 2015 ABCA/Diamond Coaches of the Year
Region Coach School State
Northeast Brett Boretti Columbia NY
East Shawn Stiffler VCU VA
Atlantic Brian O’Connor Virginia VA
South Tim Corbin Vanderbilt TN
South Central Todd Whitting Houston TX
Mideast Dan Hartleb Illinois IL
Midwest Jim Schlossnagle TCU TX
West Rick Vanderhook Cal State Fullerton CA
NCAA Div. II - 2015 ABCA/Diamond Coaches of the Year
Region Coach School State
Atlantic Joe Spano Mercyhurst PA
East Brian August Wilmington DE
Midwest Dan Davis Truman State MO
Central Cody Hooten Henderson State AR
Southeast Jim Gantt Catawba NC
South Joe Urso Tampa FL
South Central Kevin Brooks Angelo State TX
West Randy Betten Cal Poly Pomona CA
NCAA Div. III - 2015 ABCA/Diamond Coaches of the Year
Region Coach School State
New England Ed Flaherty Southern Maine ME
New York Joe Brown SUNY Cortland NY
Mid-Atlantic Rich Martin Ramapo College NJ
Mideast Chase Rowe La Roche PA
Midwest Chris Schwarz Wisconsin-La Crosse WI
South Guy Robertson Frostburg State MD
Central Bill Kurich Webster MO
West Tim Scannell Trinity TX
NAIA - 2015 ABCA/Diamond Coaches of the Year
Round Coach School State
Opening Rd. Jonathan Burton Lindsey Wilson KY
Opening Rd. Bobby Cox Oklahoma Baptist OK
Opening Rd. Mike Grahovac Concordia CA
Opening Rd. Patrick McCarthy Faulkner AL
Opening Rd. Rob Pegg Vanguard CA
Opening Rd. Jorge Perez St. Thomas FL
Opening Rd. Jeremiah Robbins Lewis-Clark State ID
Opening Rd. Mark Standiford Tabor KS
Opening Rd. Randy Stegall Embry-Riddle FL
Opening Rd. Kevin Tidey Davenport MI
NJCAA Div. I - 2015 ABCA/Diamond Coaches of the Year
District Coach School State
Central Phil Stephenson Dodge City KS
East Central David Shelton Walters State TN
Eastern Tim Medlin South Carolina Sumter SC
Gulf Doug Martin Northwest Florida State FL
Northern Marc Rardin Iowa Western IA
South Central Joe Scheuermann Delgado LA
Southeastern Adam Thomas Chattahoochee Valley AL
Southern Tom Arrington San Jacinto-North TX
Southwest Mitch Thompson McLennan TX
Western Ryan Cougill Yavapai AZ
NJCAA Div. II - 2015 ABCA/Diamond Coaches of the Year
District Coach School State
East Roger Bidwell UConn Avery Point CT
Midwest Ron Riggle Lincoln Land IL
North Eric Laskovy Kellogg MI
North Central Mike Davenport Madison WI
North Plains Travis Hergert North Iowa Area IA
Northeast Rodney Bennett Frederick MD
Plains Kurt Russell Western Oklahoma State OK
South Jeff Willis LSU Eunice LA
Southeast Paul Rozzelle Catawba Valley NC
Southwest Alex Cherney Scottsdale AZ
NJCAA Div. III - 2015 ABCA/Diamond Coaches of the Year
District Coach School State
A Jason Rathbun Herkimer NY
B Wayne King Joliet IL
C Doug Wren Tyler TX
D Dan Rascher Montgomery MD
E Dwight Kotila Century MN
F Larry Minor Nassau NY
G Rob Valli Rowan Gloucester NJ
H Jeff Mejia Northern Essex MA
Pacific Association Division - 2015 ABCA/Diamond Coaches of the Year
Region Coach School State
No. California Reed Peters Delta CA
So. California Buck Taylor Palomar CA
Northwest Eddie Smith Lower Columbia WA
High School Div. I - 2015 ABCA/Diamond Coaches of the Year
District Coach School State
1 Steve Mandl George Washington NY
2 Jeff Rabberman Gaithersburg MD
3 Clyde Metcalf Sarasota FL
4 Teddy Craig Ravenwood TN
5 Mike Hill Lawrence Free State KS
6 Wayne Dozier Carl Albert OK
7 Darrin Henry Pleasant Grove UT
8 Charles Cerrone Centennial NV
High School Div. II - 2015 ABCA/Diamond Coaches of the Year
District Coach School State
1 Mike Giovinazzo Bristol Eastern CT
2 Brian Chapman Millburn NJ
3 Andy Harlin Blessed Trinity GA
4 Jody Hamilton West Jessamine KY
5 Pat Mooney Creighton Prep NE
6 Joshua Raney Blanchard OK
7 Jeff Holland Mesquite AZ
8 Rigo Ledezma Santana CA
High School Div. III - 2015 ABCA/Diamond Coaches of the Year
District Coach School State
1 Ed Holloway Bishop Hendricken RI
2 Frank Hood Southern MD
3 Richard LaBounty Pensacola Catholic FL
4 Doug Miller Canton Central Catholic OH
5 Bob Karn St. Cloud Cathedral MN
6 Lance Spigner Horatio AR
7 Stan Manley Sheldon OR
8 Mike Talps Head-Royce CA
Diamond Sports

About Diamond Sports

Diamond Sports designs and manufactures high quality baseball and softball products for all levels, while striving to inspire participation in baseball and softball with character, integrity and respect. Diamond Sports is based in Southern California and is proud to be the Official Ball of many great college conferences, as well as leagues, tournaments and organizations nationwide. Diamond is the Official Ball of the ABCA. You can find Diamond on the web at

About the ABCA
The ABCA, founded in 1945, is the primary professional organization for baseball coaches at the amateur level. Its over 15,000 members represent all 50 states and 41 countries. Since its initial meeting of 27 college baseball coaches in June 1945, Association membership has broadened to include nine divisions: NCAA Division I, II and III, NAIA, NJCAA, Pacific Association Division, High School, Youth and Travel Baseball.
Back to Top