Brad Bohannon named ABCA/Baseball America Assistant Coach of the Year

Brad BohannonBrad Bohannon has been named 2015 ABCA/Baseball America Assistant Coach of the Year. Bohannon, who was with the University of Kentucky through the 2015 season, was hired at Auburn in October of 2015. The award will be presented by Baseball America during the Honors Luncheon at the ABCA Convention on Jan. 9

Bohannon was assistant coach at Kentucky for the past 12 seasons, first under head coach John Cohen from 2004-08 and then under head coach Gary Henderson since 2008. Bohannon was Kentucky's lead recruiter and, on the field, worked with UK's outfielders and serves as third-base coach.

In Bohannon's tenure, Kentucky has set three program records for wins, including 2012's all-time high 45 wins. UK won its first SEC Championship and hosted its first NCAA Regional in 2006. Annually, Bohannon's recruiting classes are ranked among the nation's best, including the 2008 group that was ranked No. 4 in the nation by Baseball America.

In October of 2015, Bohannon was hired as assistant coach at Auburn by Butch Thompson, who was the 2014 ABCA/Baseball America Assistant Coach of the Year while at Mississippi State. Thompson was hired as head coach at Auburn earlier in October.

Prior to Kentucky, Bohannon was assistant coach at Wake Forest for two seasons, helping the team to two NCAA Tournaments.

Bohannon becomes the fourth SEC coach in six years to win the award, joining Derek Johnson (Vanderbilt), Chad Holbrook (South Carolina) and Thompson (Mississippi State).

LINK: Baseball America feature


Past ABCA/Baseball America
Assistant Coaches of the Year

2015 - Brad Bohannon, Kentucky
2014 - Butch Thompson, Mississippi State
2013 - Chris Lemonis & Roger Williams, Louisville
2012 - Mike Birkbeck, Kent State
2011 - Chad Holbrook, South Carolina
2010 - Derek Johnson, Vanderbilt
2009 - Kevin McMullen, Virginia
2008 - Rob Fornasiere, Minnesota
2007 - Fritz Hamburg, Army
2006 - Mitch Thompson, Baylor
2005 - Bob Wojick, Eastern Connecticut State
2004 - Dave Serrano, Cal State Fullerton
2003 - Jim Lawler, Texas A&M
2002 - Jim Toman, South Carolina
2001 - Brian O'Connor, Notre Dame
2000 - Tim Corbin, Clemson
1999 - Dean Stotz, Stanford