Skip to main content
Top of the Page

1981 ABCA/Rawlings NCAA Div. I All-America Teams

1981 -ABCA/Rawlings All-America Teams
NCAA Div. I All-America First Team
Pos. Player
School State
P Tony Arnold   Texas TX
P Neal Heaton   Miami FL
C Tom Nieto   Oral Roberts OK
1B Phil Stephenson   Wichita State KS
2B Byron Horn   Eastern Michigan MI
SS Dan Davidsmeier   Southern California CA
3B Mike Sodders   Arizona State AZ
OF Kevin Romine   Arizona State AZ
OF Mark Gillaspie   Mississippi State MS
OF Mike Fuentes   Florida State FL
DH Phil Strom   Utah UT
NCAA Div. I All-America Second Team
Pos. Player
School State
P Frank Viola   St. John's NY
P Jeff Keener   Kentucky KY
C Buck Goldthorn   Texas TX
1B Franklin Stubbs   Virginia Tech VA
2B Ralph Harper   Austin Peay TN
SS Bob Meachum   San Diego State CA
3B Derrell Baker   Georgia Southern GA
OF John Christensen   Cal State Fullerton CA
OF Joe Carter   Wichita State KS
OF Paul Hollins   South Carolina SC
DH Brick Smith   Wake Forest NC
Rawlings Sporting Goods

About Rawlings

Rawlings Sporting Goods Company, Inc. is an innovative manufacturer and marketer of sporting goods worldwide. Founded in 1887, Rawlings is an authentic global sports brand, trusted by generations of athletes of all skill levels. Rawlings’ unparalleled quality and expert craftsmanship are the fundamental reasons why more professional athletes, national governing bodies and sports leagues choose Rawlings. Rawlings is the Official Ball Supplier and Batting Helmet of Major League Baseball®, the official baseball of Minor League Baseball™ and the NCAA®, and an approved baseball, basketball, football and softball of the National High School Federation®. For more information, please visit or by phone at (314) 819-2800.

About the ABCA
The ABCA, founded in 1945, is the primary professional organization for baseball coaches at the amateur level. Its over 15,000 members represent all 50 states and 41 countries. Since its initial meeting of 27 college baseball coaches in June 1945, Association membership has broadened to include nine divisions: NCAA Division I, II and III, NAIA, NJCAA, Pacific Association Division, High School, Youth and Travel Baseball.
Back to Top